top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDepays3r from Team 11

Building the race seat prototype

Ideas come and go, but I had the clear vision with the seat from the start. As I look 790 prototype, the simplicity is what motivated me the most.


The project started few months ago, as I looked for used seat that I can modify. Finally as I found one with good price, it was a true kickoff. I wanted the seat to become also more narrow and with less padding, to get better feel of rear end. So I decided to make piece where I can stick the seat foam, like on true race bikes. Overall, I am really happy how it all came together. I learned many things with it, so maybe in future I could start to produce them (?). It's pure prototype right now, nothing certain. Right now, it needs some testing to see how it feels to ride with and then I can improve it when needed. It's really amazing when the idea comes to life, and in my view this seat makes the little duke even more aggressive.


Here I tried to use general car primer and glass glue. But noticed that the plastic did not hold this primer really well and I I pealed it off later.


This is the next version, which seemed to work. As the seat plastic has 2 big holes in it, I used flexible plastic potty to fill them up and make the under foam area more smooth to get better grip with seat foam glue. A lot of hours to get it smooth, but very happy with the result. I did not spend too much time on it to get it extremely smooth, but its really nice still.


So here it is after it was painted matt black but without the seat foam installed.

Design wise, the next step is to make and install custom stickers to the sides to match the tank and rear seat cover.


Stay tuned!

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page